Our insights - Henry Davis York

The Wrap - March 2016

Spacer Panel

It is an exciting time to be working in the financial services industry. Cognitive science, innovation and change are currently powerful forces in financial services, driving fundamental and permanent structural shifts in the industry and how it is regulated.

Financial services regulators are taking a central role in driving change. Through behavioural economics, ASIC continues to develop insights into how and why people behave the way they do, which is influencing regulation. They are also consulting industry participants on how review and remediation programs should operate.

The rapid pace of change can be seen everywhere. The implementation of recommendations from the Financial Services Inquiry continues to drive regulatory change. In this edition of The Wrap, we explore one of the recommendations, looking at improving key areas of how managed investment schemes are regulated.

The dispersion of technology into financial services is increasing exponentially. We are seeing first-hand how innovation and disruption are transforming financial services businesses. No players are immune, with FinTech start-ups through to large and mature institutions looking to harness the latest technological innovations. It is important this structural shift in the industry is embraced as consumers' needs change.

As the environment changes, financial regulators must ensure that the financial system can adapt in the face of innovation. Many of the laws and regulations which guide the industry were devised before current service and product delivery channels had been conceived.

In this edition of HDY's The Wrap we explore all these themes, and more.

download the full publication to read on

Author

Nikki Bentley

Partner

61 422 004 806

61 2 9947 6245

nikki.bentley@hdy.com.au

Author

Stephen Etkind

Partner

61 412 769 209

61 2 9947 6472

stephen.etkind@hdy.com.au

Author

Jon Ireland

Partner

61 414 290 163

61 2 9947 6091

jon.ireland@hdy.com.au

Author

Cameron Cheetham

Partner

61 409 433 088

61 2 9947 6253

cameron.cheetham@hdy.com.au

Author

Matthew McMillan

Partner

61 437 571 910

61 2 9947 6727

matthew.mcmillan@hdy.com.au

Author

Claudine Salameh

Partner

61 402 451 770

61 2 9947 6489

claudine.salameh@hdy.com.au

Author

Matthew Farnsworth

Special Counsel

61 2 9947 6799

matthew.farnsworth@hdy.com.au

Author

Bronwyn Maynard

Special Counsel

61 2 9947 6560

bronwyn.maynard@hdy.com.au

Author

Jonathon Turner

Senior Associate

61 2 9947 6766

jonathon.turner@hdy.com.au

Author

Vinod Kumar

Senior Associate

61 412 032 553

61 2 9947 6254

vinod.kumar@hdy.com.au

other related insights