Our insights - Henry Davis York

The Wrap - December 2016

Spacer Panel

In this specially-themed edition of The Wrap we consider how innovation as a concept is driving different initiatives in the financial services industry. Innovation has become a commonly used term among businesses seeking to differentiate themselves in a fast-moving industry.

HDY gets to the heart of innovation in this edition and discover that it can be interpreted through change management, adaption to new technologies, blending digital and human interaction and manoeuvring through the regulatory maze. One common strand we see is the underpinning need for speed and adaptability of thought and ideas. In a word, ingenuity.

In financial services, the need to adapt to challenges brought by operational innovations, new entrants and changing markets and consumer bases is as old as the hills. One view, is that it simply describes capitalism in process. The new buzz around disruption and start-ups in that sense is describing an evolutionary stage only and not a new frontier.

The fintech businesses looking to grab market share from established financial institutions therefore stand as the latest in a long line of market innovators tracing back over the years. These innovators keep good company alongside the developers of the first investment platforms, internet banking, ATMs and telegraphic money transfers.

In the latest edition, we take a deep dive into these themes and ask questions about how new ideas and innovation actually coexist. Thank you for reading.

download the full publication to read on

Author

Louise Cantrill

Partner

61 2 9947 6511

louise.cantrill@hdy.com.au

Author

James Higby

Senior Associate

61 2 9947 6358

james.higby@hdy.com.au

Author

Sue Everingham

Consultant

61 423 288 857

61 2 9947 6319

sue.everingham@hdy.com.au

Author

Ken Wong

Senior Associate

61 2 9947 6599

ken.wong@hdy.com.au

Author

Matthew McMillan

Partner

61 437 571 910

61 2 9947 6727

matthew.mcmillan@hdy.com.au

Author

Bronwyn Maynard

Special Counsel

61 2 9947 6560

bronwyn.maynard@hdy.com.au

Author

Jon Ireland

Partner

61 414 290 163

61 2 9947 6091

jon.ireland@hdy.com.au

Author

Nikki Bentley

Partner

61 422 004 806

61 2 9947 6245

nikki.bentley@hdy.com.au

Author

Stephen Etkind

Partner

61 412 769 209

61 2 9947 6472

stephen.etkind@hdy.com.au

Author

Matthew Farnsworth

Special Counsel

61 2 9947 6799

matthew.farnsworth@hdy.com.au

Author

Vinod Kumar

Senior Associate

61 412 032 553

61 2 9947 6254

vinod.kumar@hdy.com.au

other related insights